Burkina Faso

Where is Burkina Faso?


Burkina Faso is a small West African country. It borders Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana, and Côte d’Ivoire. Burkina arguably has the greatest capital name, Ouagadougou.




Political History of Burkina FasoPolitics

Burkina Faso has undergone two coups in the last two years, one successful and one fail. On October 31, 2014, then president Compaore was ousted in a coup, largely supported by the Burkinabe population. Overall, this coup was relatively peaceful. In September 2015, a failed coup took place in which members of Compaore’s RSP, or presidential guard, attempted to over throw interim President Michel Kafando in response to the ban placed on former members of theRSP from taking part in the upcoming elections. In December 2015, Burkina Faso elected Roch Marc Christian Kaboré as president in one of the most open, democratic elections in the country’s history.



Education in Burkina Faso-1

Education in Burkina Faso exemplifies the harsh reality of the global education crisis. While good data is hard to collect, the literacy rate in Burkina Faso hovers slightly below 30%. Education throughout the country varies significant by location. In urban Ouagadougou, the expected years of schooling is 11.9 while in the least populated regions, such as the Sahel region in the north, it is only 2.2 years. Gender differences in education also exist.

These are significant challenges and are why the University of Delaware chapter of buildOn is committed to building a second school with a community in Burkina Faso.



Trek: August 2015

This slideshow requires JavaScript.